My 2012 Holidays, The Best Yet

1 Jan

Well, okay, I admit it – we got ready for Christmas as early as October (excited, eh?). This is primarily because we are now living in a house that allows us to make advance decorations for the holidays. This year’s celebrations were far, far different from the others. Putting up early Christmas decorations is just one of the reasons that made my 2012 holidays worth remembering.

SOX Bloggers’ Christmas Party

sox bloggers' chrismas partyDue to the nature of my work, I haven’t attended any Christmas party since the last one way back in 2008. The SOX or Soccsksargen Bloggers is composed of bloggers from all over South Central Mindanao. I haven’t attended any of the SOX Christmas parties yet and I got actively involved with the group’s activities only last year with SM City GenSan‘s grand opening. It’s definitely a first!

It was a fun-filled night – that sure is an understatement! And speaking of statement, I won as one of Best Statement Shirts of the night wearing the Pinoy Freelancer Ako shirt. I got myself a free Starbucks gift certificate and a gift pack from SM Supermarket. I also got a free tote bag from Robinson’s and cute speakers from our exchange gifts.

Though it may be the first SOX Bloggers’ Christmas party I attended, it’s definitely not my last one.

Biaca Family Christmas Gathering

family christmas gatheringWe have a tradition of gathering on Christmas Eve, exchanging gifts and celebrating Noche Buena together as a family. Family is, I believe, one of the essences of Christmas – celebrating the birth of Jesus and giving thanks together.

The gathering marked another first for me as it will also be the time that I’ll be cooking cordon bleu. It turned out to be quite a success and I certainly know how to make the next batch better. The Kris Kringle part is always exciting; it exemplifies the season’s spirit of giving and sharing.

Rohan received a Mickey Mouse stuffed toy, a basketball and ring, and three pairs of socks. I got new additions to my pambahay wardrobe plus a big bag, while Rick received two pairs of basketball shorts and eau de’ parfum.

I don’t have photos of our family Christmas gathering because the digital camera battery charger has gone missing. We have good reason to believe that a pair of (really cute but) makulit na kamay are the culprit. Thankfully, I found a charger on eBay and it was delivered just in time for New Year’s celebration.

Welcoming the New Year

2013 new yearWe celebrated 2012 in Davao City, so there’s no fireworks, and as a GenSan native I missed the light plays in the sky when the new year came around. Ushering in 2013 was definitely different! The sky lit up in awesome displays of pyrotechnics which lasted for almost half an hour and I can tell they were not the usual fireworks I used to see years before.

Fireworks, food and fun – those are three words that would best bring to mind our New Year celebration this year.

2012 was a great year. I am ever so thankful to my family for giving me the inspiration and strength to overcome the numerous challenges, my new and old friends who shared with the ups and downs, and to my clients who made our lives more comfortable.

I am proud to have accomplished the goals I had set for myself in 2012 and certainly 2013 looks even more promising. Stay tuned because we’re going to start it off in a very, very special way.

Like my friends say – LET’S MAKE IT HAPPEN THIS YEAR!

And I will, and sure hope you do the same with your own goals!

Leave a Reply

