Clearing After Dark by Brooks Haxton

14 May

Clearing After Dark

Between the black rift
where the moon hung
and the grasses drenched
after a noonday downpour
the old fury in my brain
had floated far off
into the deepening calm,
as if the moon could see me
for the ghost I am.

nakedness, death, and the number zero: poems

nakedness, death, and the number zero: poems

2 Responses to “Clearing After Dark by Brooks Haxton”

  1. Nothing profound June 13, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    Enjoyed this poem very much. Just my kind of imagery. Very tight like a Japanese tanka. Will look up more of her (his) stuff.

  2. Incognito Ainur June 13, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

    I know…first time I read it, it really struck me with its rhythm and imagery…glad you liked the poem…and he’s a he, btw πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

